[Life] ‘You’ve got to find what you love,’ Jobs says

This is a prepared text of the Commencement address delivered by Steve Jobs, CEO of Apple Computer and of Pixar Animation Studios, on June 12, 2005.

Video of the Commencement address.

I am honored to be with you today at your commencement from one of the finest universities in the world. I never graduated from college. Truth be told, this is the closest I’ve ever gotten to a college graduation. Today I want to tell you three stories from my life. That’s it. No big deal. Just three stories.

The first story is about connecting the dots.

I dropped out of Reed College after the first 6 months, but then stayed around as a drop-in for another 18 months or so before I really quit. So why did I drop out?

It started before I was born. My biological mother was a young, unwed college graduate student, and she decided to put me up for adoption. She felt very strongly that I should be adopted by college graduates, so everything was all set for me to be adopted at birth by a lawyer and his wife. Except that when I popped out they decided at the last minute that they really wanted a girl. So my parents, who were on a waiting list, got a call in the middle of the night asking: “We have an unexpected baby boy; do you want him?” They said: “Of course.” My biological mother later found out that my mother had never graduated from college and that my father had never graduated from high school. She refused to sign the final adoption papers. She only relented a few months later when my parents promised that I would someday go to college.

And 17 years later I did go to college. But I naively chose a college that was almost as expensive as Stanford, and all of my working-class parents’ savings were being spent on my college tuition. After six months, I couldn’t see the value in it. I had no idea what I wanted to do with my life and no idea how college was going to help me figure it out. And here I was spending all of the money my parents had saved their entire life. So I decided to drop out and trust that it would all work out OK. It was pretty scary at the time, but looking back it was one of the best decisions I ever made. The minute I dropped out I could stop taking the required classes that didn’t interest me, and begin dropping in on the ones that looked interesting.

It wasn’t all romantic. I didn’t have a dorm room, so I slept on the floor in friends’ rooms, I returned coke bottles for the 5¢ deposits to buy food with, and I would walk the 7 miles across town every Sunday night to get one good meal a week at the Hare Krishna temple. I loved it. And much of what I stumbled into by following my curiosity and intuition turned out to be priceless later on. Let me give you one example:

Reed College at that time offered perhaps the best calligraphy instruction in the country. Throughout the campus every poster, every label on every drawer, was beautifully hand calligraphed. Because I had dropped out and didn’t have to take the normal classes, I decided to take a calligraphy class to learn how to do this. I learned about serif and san serif typefaces, about varying the amount of space between different letter combinations, about what makes great typography great. It was beautiful, historical, artistically subtle in a way that science can’t capture, and I found it fascinating.

None of this had even a hope of any practical application in my life. But ten years later, when we were designing the first Macintosh computer, it all came back to me. And we designed it all into the Mac. It was the first computer with beautiful typography. If I had never dropped in on that single course in college, the Mac would have never had multiple typefaces or proportionally spaced fonts. And since Windows just copied the Mac, it’s likely that no personal computer would have them. If I had never dropped out, I would have never dropped in on this calligraphy class, and personal computers might not have the wonderful typography that they do. Of course it was impossible to connect the dots looking forward when I was in college. But it was very, very clear looking backwards ten years later.

Again, you can’t connect the dots looking forward; you can only connect them looking backwards. So you have to trust that the dots will somehow connect in your future. You have to trust in something — your gut, destiny, life, karma, whatever. This approach has never let me down, and it has made all the difference in my life.

My second story is about love and loss.

I was lucky — I found what I loved to do early in life. Woz and I started Apple in my parents garage when I was 20. We worked hard, and in 10 years Apple had grown from just the two of us in a garage into a $2 billion company with over 4000 employees. We had just released our finest creation — the Macintosh — a year earlier, and I had just turned 30. And then I got fired. How can you get fired from a company you started? Well, as Apple grew we hired someone who I thought was very talented to run the company with me, and for the first year or so things went well. But then our visions of the future began to diverge and eventually we had a falling out. When we did, our Board of Directors sided with him. So at 30 I was out. And very publicly out. What had been the focus of my entire adult life was gone, and it was devastating.

I really didn’t know what to do for a few months. I felt that I had let the previous generation of entrepreneurs down – that I had dropped the baton as it was being passed to me. I met with David Packard and Bob Noyce and tried to apologize for screwing up so badly. I was a very public failure, and I even thought about running away from the valley. But something slowly began to dawn on me — I still loved what I did. The turn of events at Apple had not changed that one bit. I had been rejected, but I was still in love. And so I decided to start over.

I didn’t see it then, but it turned out that getting fired from Apple was the best thing that could have ever happened to me. The heaviness of being successful was replaced by the lightness of being a beginner again, less sure about everything. It freed me to enter one of the most creative periods of my life.

During the next five years, I started a company named NeXT, another company named Pixar, and fell in love with an amazing woman who would become my wife. Pixar went on to create the worlds first computer animated feature film, Toy Story, and is now the most successful animation studio in the world. In a remarkable turn of events, Apple bought NeXT, I returned to Apple, and the technology we developed at NeXT is at the heart of Apple’s current renaissance. And Laurene and I have a wonderful family together.

I’m pretty sure none of this would have happened if I hadn’t been fired from Apple. It was awful tasting medicine, but I guess the patient needed it. Sometimes life hits you in the head with a brick. Don’t lose faith. I’m convinced that the only thing that kept me going was that I loved what I did. You’ve got to find what you love. And that is as true for your work as it is for your lovers. Your work is going to fill a large part of your life, and the only way to be truly satisfied is to do what you believe is great work. And the only way to do great work is to love what you do. If you haven’t found it yet, keep looking. Don’t settle. As with all matters of the heart, you’ll know when you find it. And, like any great relationship, it just gets better and better as the years roll on. So keep looking until you find it. Don’t settle.

My third story is about death.

When I was 17, I read a quote that went something like: “If you live each day as if it was your last, someday you’ll most certainly be right.” It made an impression on me, and since then, for the past 33 years, I have looked in the mirror every morning and asked myself: “If today were the last day of my life, would I want to do what I am about to do today?” And whenever the answer has been “No” for too many days in a row, I know I need to change something.

Remembering that I’ll be dead soon is the most important tool I’ve ever encountered to help me make the big choices in life. Because almost everything — all external expectations, all pride, all fear of embarrassment or failure – these things just fall away in the face of death, leaving only what is truly important. Remembering that you are going to die is the best way I know to avoid the trap of thinking you have something to lose. You are already naked. There is no reason not to follow your heart.

About a year ago I was diagnosed with cancer. I had a scan at 7:30 in the morning, and it clearly showed a tumor on my pancreas. I didn’t even know what a pancreas was. The doctors told me this was almost certainly a type of cancer that is incurable, and that I should expect to live no longer than three to six months. My doctor advised me to go home and get my affairs in order, which is doctor’s code for prepare to die. It means to try to tell your kids everything you thought you’d have the next 10 years to tell them in just a few months. It means to make sure everything is buttoned up so that it will be as easy as possible for your family. It means to say your goodbyes.

I lived with that diagnosis all day. Later that evening I had a biopsy, where they stuck an endoscope down my throat, through my stomach and into my intestines, put a needle into my pancreas and got a few cells from the tumor. I was sedated, but my wife, who was there, told me that when they viewed the cells under a microscope the doctors started crying because it turned out to be a very rare form of pancreatic cancer that is curable with surgery. I had the surgery and I’m fine now.

This was the closest I’ve been to facing death, and I hope it’s the closest I get for a few more decades. Having lived through it, I can now say this to you with a bit more certainty than when death was a useful but purely intellectual concept:

No one wants to die. Even people who want to go to heaven don’t want to die to get there. And yet death is the destination we all share. No one has ever escaped it. And that is as it should be, because Death is very likely the single best invention of Life. It is Life’s change agent. It clears out the old to make way for the new. Right now the new is you, but someday not too long from now, you will gradually become the old and be cleared away. Sorry to be so dramatic, but it is quite true.

Your time is limited, so don’t waste it living someone else’s life. Don’t be trapped by dogma — which is living with the results of other people’s thinking. Don’t let the noise of others’ opinions drown out your own inner voice. And most important, have the courage to follow your heart and intuition. They somehow already know what you truly want to become. Everything else is secondary.

When I was young, there was an amazing publication called The Whole Earth Catalog, which was one of the bibles of my generation. It was created by a fellow named Stewart Brand not far from here in Menlo Park, and he brought it to life with his poetic touch. This was in the late 1960’s, before personal computers and desktop publishing, so it was all made with typewriters, scissors, and polaroid cameras. It was sort of like Google in paperback form, 35 years before Google came along: it was idealistic, and overflowing with neat tools and great notions.

Stewart and his team put out several issues of The Whole Earth Catalog, and then when it had run its course, they put out a final issue. It was the mid-1970s, and I was your age. On the back cover of their final issue was a photograph of an early morning country road, the kind you might find yourself hitchhiking on if you were so adventurous. Beneath it were the words: “Stay Hungry. Stay Foolish.” It was their farewell message as they signed off. Stay Hungry. Stay Foolish. And I have always wished that for myself. And now, as you graduate to begin anew, I wish that for you.

Stay Hungry. Stay Foolish.

Thank you all very much.

REF: http://news.stanford.edu/news/2005/june15/jobs-061505.html

[Photograph] Vẻ đẹp của những đồ vật khi xẻ làm đôi

Một số đồ vật mặc dù có vẻ ngoài không đẹp nhưng khi được xẻ làm đôi, mặt cắt ngang “nội thất” của chúng có thể khiến chúng ta thích thú. Hãy cùng xem qua những bức ảnh chụp về đồ vật khi chúng được xẻ đôi dưới đây.

cáp_điện.
Đầu tiên là mặt cắt ngang của một sợi cáp điện siêu tải dưới biển. Sợi cáp này thường được dùng để kết nối các tuabin gió với lưới điện tại đất liền. Nó có giá khoảng 400 USD cho mỗi đoạn dài 1 ft (0,3 m).​
máy_in.
Một chiếc máy in và photocopy màu được xẻ dọc. Chúng ta có thể thấy rất rõ các thành phần như khay giấy, hệ thống cuộn giấy và các hộp mực màu xanh đỏ vàng đen.​
túi_khí.Nếu bạn thắc mắc túi khí trên vô-lăng xe hơi được bố trí như thế nào thì tấm hình trên cho bạn câu trả lời.​
động_cơ_xe.
Động cơ xe mô-tô phân khối lớn.​
hộp_số_tự_động.
Hộp số tự động.​
lựu_đạn.
Lựu đạn là một vũ khí sát thương rất lợi hại. Hình trên là một quả lựu đạn được xẻ đôi trông khá đẹp. Chính giữa là một trục chứa các thành phần kích nổ gồm cò kích, lò xo, mũ gõ, kíp nổ màu đỏ, nguyên liệu nổ chậm. Quả lựu đạn này đã được loại bỏ phần thuốc nổ, để lộ các mảnh kim loại gây sát thương hình vuông xếp chồng lên nhau như một bức tường. Ngoài ra chốt và đòn bẩy cũng được cắt ngang.​
nòng_pháo.
Nòng pháo xe tăng với các khương tuyến (rãnh xoáy) giúp quả đạn pháo tăng tốc, giảm độ giật, đi được xa hơn và chính xác hơn.​
súng.
Bên trong một khẩu súng ngắn.​
đạn.
Còn đây là mặt cắt ngang của 15 loại đạn khác nhau.​
chiller.
Đây là một thiết bị làm lạnh (chiller) đối dòng được dùng để làm lạnh bia đang sôi xuống nhiệt độ lên men.​
máy_ct.
Máy chụp cắt lớp CT thật sự là một thiết bị khổng lồ với rất nhiều bộ phận phức tạp.​
canon_d1.
Giờ là máy chụp ảnh, cụ thể là chiếc Canon 1Ds kèm ống kính 400 mm cắt làm đôi.​
ống_leica.
Chi tiết hơn chúng ta có một chiếc ống kính của Leica cắt làm đôi. Các thấu kính và hệ thống cơ xoay lộ ra rất rõ ràng.

máy_bay.
Khi ngồi trên máy bay thì bạn thực ra đang ngồi trên sàn phân tách giữa khoang hành khách và hành lý như trên hình.​

kẹo_jawbreaker.
Một cục kẹo jawbreaker cắt làm đôi với rất nhiều đường tròn đồng tâm nhiều màu sắc tuyệt đẹp.​
colgate.
Các màu trong một tuýp kem đánh răng được trộn như thế nào? Cắt đôi tuýp kem ra và chúng ta có câu trả lời. Mình đã từng làm điều mày :)

miễng_gỗ.
Đây là một miếng gỗ được dùng để trộn sơn trong thùng trong suốt 50 năm và khi cắt làm đôi, chúng ta có thể thấy miếng gỗ này được quấn bởi nhiều lớp sơn đủ màu sắc.

bóng_chày.
Bên trong một quả bóng chày.

bóng_golf.
Quả bóng đánh golf bị cắt đôi.

thân_cây.
Và đây có lẽ là tấm hình ấn tượng nhất và độc nhất vô nhị. Một quả bóng đánh golf bằng cách nào đó ra lọt vào thân cây và cái cây này đã phát triển tự nhiên, bao bọc lấy quả bóng. Và thật may mắn khi người ta vô tình cắt ngang đoạn thân cây có chứa quả bóng và được tấm hình trên.​

[Life] Những hình ảnh ấn tượng tại cuộc thi Di sản Việt Nam 2014

Những hình ảnh ấn tượng tại cuộc thi Di sản Việt Nam 2014

Tác phẩm “Tuyết Sa Pa” của tác giả Phạm Bằng, giải nhất chủ đề Thiên nhiên.

Những hình ảnh ấn tượng tại cuộc thi Di sản Việt Nam 2014

Tác phẩm “Thác Bản Giốc mùa thu” của tác giả Trịnh Thu Nguyệt, giải nhì chủ đề Thiên nhiên.

Những hình ảnh ấn tượng tại cuộc thi Di sản Việt Nam 2014

Tác phẩm “Hoa biển Trường Sa” của tác giả Vũ Ngọc Hoàng, giải ba chủ đề Thiên nhiên.

Những hình ảnh ấn tượng tại cuộc thi Di sản Việt Nam 2014

Tác phẩm “Bánh hỏi ra lò” của tác giả Trần Đình Thương, giải nhất chủ đề Di sản văn hóa vật thể.

Những hình ảnh ấn tượng tại cuộc thi Di sản Việt Nam 2014

Tác phẩm “Sản phẩm tre Việt Nam” của tác giả: Trần Đình Thương, giải nhì chủ đề Di sản văn hóa vật thể.

Những hình ảnh ấn tượng tại cuộc thi Di sản Việt Nam 2014

Tác phẩm “Lụa Bảo Lộc” của tác giả: Cao Minh Dẹt, giải ba chủ đề Di sản văn hóa vật thể.

Những hình ảnh ấn tượng tại cuộc thi Di sản Việt Nam 2014

Tác phẩm “Gái Thượng Phong” của Nguyễn Thành Vương, giải nhất chủ đề Di sản văn hóa phi vật thể.

Những hình ảnh ấn tượng tại cuộc thi Di sản Việt Nam 2014

Tác phẩm “Náo nức hội làng” của tác giả Hoàng Hải Thịnh, giải nhì chủ đề Di sản văn hóa phi vật thể.

Những hình ảnh ấn tượng tại cuộc thi Di sản Việt Nam 2014

Tác phẩm “Hội vật làng Thủ Lễ” của tác giả: Nguyễn Đức Trí, giải ba chủ đề Di sản văn hóa phi vật thể.

Những hình ảnh ấn tượng tại cuộc thi Di sản Việt Nam 2014

Tác phẩm “Ánh đèn đêm hội” của tác giả Lê Trọng Khang, giải nhất chủ đề Đời sống

Những hình ảnh ấn tượng tại cuộc thi Di sản Việt Nam 2014

Tác phẩm “Niềm vui được mùa tỏi” của Tác giả Bùi Thái Dũng, giải nhì chủ đề Đời sống

Những hình ảnh ấn tượng tại cuộc thi Di sản Việt Nam 2014

Tác phẩm “Niềm Vui” của tác giả Hà Văn Đông, giải ba chủ đề Đời sống

Những hình ảnh ấn tượng tại cuộc thi Di sản Việt Nam 2014

Tác phẩm “Mây núi Bắc Sơn” của tác giả Nguyễn Phụng Chí, giải thưởng ảnh bộ.

[Discovery] Các nhà khoa học tạo ra loại gel ngăn vết thương chảy máu trong nháy mắt

Khi cơ thể của chúng ta bị tổn thưởng dẫn đến chảy máu, sẽ phải mất một thời gian để vết thương có thể lành lại và cầm máu. Tuy nhiên các nhà khoa học tại viện công nghệ sinh học Suneris đã tạo ra một bước đột phá mới, với loại gel có thể giúp cầm máu chỉ sau vài giây. Hiện tại loại gel này đang được thử nghiệm tại một số phòng khám thú ý của Brooklyn.

Nó được các nhà khoa học gọi là VetiGel, được chiết xuất từ thực vật nên ít gây ra các phản ứng phụ. VetiGel không những có thể cầm máu các vết thương ngoài da, mà nó còn hỗ trợ đắc lực cho các bác sĩ phẫu thuật. Việc cầm máu các cơ quan bên trong khi phẫu thuật giờ đây sẽ trở nên vô cùng đơn giản.

Giám đốc điều hành và đồng sáng lập viện Suneris, ông Joe Landolina cho biết VetiGel giống như một khối lego mà thành phần chính là các polyme thực vật được lấy từ các tế bào thực vật, nó có khả năng liên kết với các tế bào xung quanh và tạo thành một bức tường giúp ngăn vết thương bị chảy máu.

Hiện tại loại gel đặc biệt này có thể giúp cầm máu trong khoảng 1 phút, tuy nhiên chừng đó đã là sự khác biệt rất lớn giữa sự sống và cái chết. Thử tưởng tượng một người lính trên chiến trường bị bắn chúng động mạch và không thể cầm máu, anh ta sẽ chết chỉ sau vài phút. Tuy nhiên với VetiGel hy vọng sống sót của anh lính sẽ được tăng lên rất nhiều.

Ứng dụng của nó trong đời sống cũng là rất lớn. Tuy nhiên hiện tại VetiGel vẫn chưa được thử nghiệm trên con người. Nó cần thêm thời gian để kiểm tra và hoàn thiện trước khi đưa ra để FDA cấp phép. Còn hiện tại các bác sĩ đã xác định VetiGel đủ an toàn để chữa trị trên động vật.

Theo cnet

[Discovery] Vẻ đẹp của những thiên thạch trị giá hàng trăm triệu đồng

Mẩu đá từ mặt trăng.

Mẩu đá từ mặt trăng có giá khởi điểm 110.000 USD (hơn 2 tỷ đồng) – mức giá khởi điểm cao nhất so với những thiên thạch khác. Người ta tìm thấy nó tại Morocco vào năm 2007.

1.000 USD là giá ban đầu cho mẩu thiên thạch trong ảnh. Nó là một phần của tảng đá trời mang tên Imilac.

Mẩu thiên thạch trong ảnh là một phần của tảng đá trời mang tên Imilac.

6.000 USD là giá khởi điểm

26.000 USD (hơn 500 triệu đồng) là giá khởi điểm của viên đá từng văng khỏi bề mặt của sao Hỏa. Người ta phát hiện nó tại Morocco vào năm 2012.

Một mảnh thiên thạch Imila

Một mảnh thiên thạch Imilac mà người ta phát hiện trong sa mạc Atacama thuộc Chile vào năm 1882. Giá khởi điểm của nó là 14.000 USD (khoảng 300 triệu đồng).

ok

Cục sắt này từng là một phần trong vành đai thiên thạch giữa sao Mộc và sao Hỏa. Giá khởi điểm của nó là 45.000 USD (gần 1 tỷ đồng).

6.500 USD là giá khởi điểm của một mảnh thuộc thiên thạch mang tên Seym

6.500 USD (hơn 130 triệu đồng) là giá khởi điểm của một mảnh thuộc thiên thạch mang tên Seymchan.

Mảnh khác của thiên thạch Seymchan

Mảnh khác của thiên thạch Seymchan với giá khởi điểm 48.000 USD (hơn 1 tỷ đồng).

Khối vật chất hình cầu trong ảnh là một mẩu thiên thạch mà người ta từng phát hiện tại Nga vào năm 1967.

Khối vật chất hình cầu trong ảnh là một mẩu thiên thạch mà người ta từng phát hiện tại Nga vào năm 1967. Nó cũng là một phần của thiên thạch Seymchan.

Vào năm 1881, người ta phát hiện mẩu thiên thạch trong ảnh tại bang Kansas của Mỹ.

Vào năm 1881, người ta phát hiện mẩu thiên thạch trong ảnh tại bang Kansas của Mỹ. Nó là một phần của một đá trời từng vỡ tan khoảng 100 triệu năm trước.

Những người săn thiên thạch phát hiện khối sắt này tại

Những người săn thiên thạch phát hiện khối sắt này tại Morocco vào năm 2007. Giá khởi điểm của nó là 65.000 USD (gần 1,4 tỷ đồng).

Theo Zing

[Discovery] Các nhà khoa học đã có đủ nguyên liệu di truyền để hồi sinh voi Ma mút lông xoăn

Tinhte-voi-ma-mut. ​Dựa trên phân tích mẫu máu và các bộ phận của xác một con voi Ma mút lông xoăn tìm thấy hồi giữa năm ngoái, các nhàkhoa học đã tái xây dựng lại cấu trúc DNA của loài sinh vật thời cổ đại đã tuyệt chủng này. Điều đó đồng nghĩa với việc họ đã có đủ nguyên liệu để nhân bản vô tính và phục sinh một con voi Ma mút bằng xương bằng thịt trong thế giới hiện đại ngày nay.

Hồi cuối tháng 5/2013, một nhóm nhà khoa học Nga đã khai quật được xác voi Ma mút được bảo tồn khá nguyên vẹn sâu trong băng đá trên hòn đảo Lyakhovsky thuộc Siberia. Đây là một mẫu vật cực kỳ hiếm có với đầy đủ chân, phần lớn cơ thể, phần thân và đầu gần như vẫn còn nguyên vẹn. Và quý giá hơn nữa là còn có “chất lỏng màu đỏ đen” vốn là máu của voi Ma mút vẫn còn được bảo quản qua hàng trăm triệu năm qua.

Nhóm nghiên cứu đã đặt tên cho mẫu vật là Buttercup và mang về phòng thí nghiệm ngay khi quá trình khai vật hoàn thành. Theo nhận định ban đầu, Buttercup là một con voi Ma mút cái với chiều cao vào khoảng 2,5 mét, tương đương với kích cỡ của voi chây Á hiện đại ngày nay (khá nhỏ so với hình dung trước đây về những con voi Ma mút khổng lồ). Quá trình xác định tuổi bằng đồng vị phóng xạ carbon tiết lộ Buttercup đã sống cách đây khoảng 43.000 năm và chết khi cô mới 50 tuổi. Sau khi phân tích ngà, các nhà nghiên cứu còn biết được Buttercup từng làm mẹ ít nhất là 8 lần (do ngà voi phát triển cực kỳ chậm khi mang thai) và bị hư thai 1 lần.

Sau đó, nhóm nghiên cứu bắt đầu nghiên cứu các cơ quan tiêu hóa và phát hiện được rằng thức ăn chủ yếu của Buttercup là các loại thực vật trên đồng cỏ, điển hình như bồ công anh. Đồng thời, từ các dấu răng trên xương của Buttercup, các nhà khoa học khẳng định rằng nó đã bị sa vào đầm lầy, sau đó bị ăn sống bởi các loài ăn thịt khác như sói,… Điểm đặc biệt nhất, khi các nhà nghiên cứu đưa thiết bị vào khớp xương thì một “chất lỏng màu đỏ đen” đã chảy ra. Đây là nguồn nguyên liệu hết sức quý giá và chưa từng được khai quật trước đây.

Nguồn máu này đã cung cấp đầy đủ nguyên liệu DNA để tiến hành nhân bản. Mặc dù bộ DNA thu được vẫn chưa thật sự hoàn hảo nhưng nhóm nghiên tiết lộ rằng nếu kết hợp những gì thu được với bộ DNA của voi hiện đại thì giấc mơ “công viên kỷ Jura” là hoàn toàn khả thi. Tuy nhiên, hy vọng này cũng vấp phải một số trở ngại nhất định. Nếu muốn nhân bản vô tính Buttercup, các nhà khoa học sẽ cần một voi mẹ mang thai hộ trong vòng 22 tháng và có thể voi mẹ sẽ chết trước khi hạ sinh.

Hơn nữa, nếu có thể hồi sinh được thì Buttercup sẽ sống 1mình trong điều kiện nhân tạo như trong sở thú, trong khi Ma mút là loài sống theo bầy đàn nên không có gì đảm bảo là nó có thể tồn tại lâu dài. Nếu thả nó vào tự nhiên, nó có thể là một tác nhân gây xáo trộn hệ sinh thái và ảnh hưởng tới đời sống của các loài sinh vật khác. Dù nhận được nhiều ý kiến trái chiều nhau của nhiều học giả trên thế giới nhưng nhóm nghiên cứu vẫn hy vọng sẽ phục sinh thành công loài động vật tiền sử này nhằm phục vụ các nghiên cứu trong tương lai.